top of page

Blog Post 5

This week felt really stressful, but also really good! There was a scholarship/special program that I have been tracking and they opened the portal only a week before the application was due. I found out three or so days before. I also had a college class physics test that I bombed (like probably a C if I'm lucky bad...it's realistically like a D or oh no!). I feel really not smart in my college, and I've never felt that way before. A lot of the math is something that would feel right level-challenging on its own, but combined with physics and "common sense" knowledge of forces, it goes through a ear and out the other. I don't even know what I don't know.

But on the good side, pottery has helped a lot. Thursday at Annie's studio felt really relaxing. I was with people that I enjoyed and felt good being around and repetitive task that produced...well art was just a really good feeling. Annie taught me how to use the wheel and it feels like something I can cross of my bucket list. I learned something new and built something beautiful which make my week so so so much better.

On Tuesday, I wanted to make a tube connected with circles, but the resulting small thing was incredibly fragile. I then wondered if I could make a tube using the "Play-Doh" machine (as Annie calls it), and just cut out circles. It was interesting how my initial idea and my final idea are nothing alike. I wanted to make something with perfect circles, but afterwards, I realized that my imperfectly cut out hexagons on varying border lengths looked alot more natural. I'm really excited to give my art piece to the ocean and see how nature finishes it.

On Thursday, Tessa and I had a very deep conversation about our vegetarian/vegan choices and the environment. Tessa's commitment was super inspiring. I know what it means to mindful about the environment, but it has always been an unattainable concept. It was cool to hear how Tessa was avoiding plastic and trying to live a close to zero waste lifestyle and she definitely got me thinking about small things I can do to lower my own waste consumption in a practical way. After the seminar on Friday, I really wanted to do something. Since then, I've been more observant and have read many apocalyptic-style articles talking about climate change. I really want to do something, but I'm not sure what and how. Too much of the world depends on making money and the easiest way to make money is to make things that don't last. Watching the video on Friday, I was thinking about how my parents always complain about the quality of their cloths. They talk about when they were younger and garments used to go through multiple siblings (or donated multiple times), and then used as kitchen/cleaning rags before being disposed off. Now, I know that cloths barely survive a few washes before shrinking considerably or looking super faded out or have fabric coming out.

Math:

Waves text:

I was super interested in how native civilizations were able to predict where an island based on how the waves aligned themselves. I've always wondered how on San Diego's curvy coast how and why waves hit the coast straight on.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page