top of page

Blog 4

1. Watch or re-watch the Ted Ed video on global ocean currents. What strikes you most about the video?

I am interested in learning about the physics behinds the thermohaline circulation and how climate change affects its movement. It was amazing how something super small like a degree or even a half degree change in ocean temperatures can slow down water circulation and effect tiny, microscopic plankton which then affect oxygen production and basically the entire biosphere! It was interesting to hear this information, but it would also be interesting if I could get my hands on some data or see a graphical representation of all the different variables and they are all connected.

2. Post your final mixed media digital art piece with a brief write up on its Significance, Perspective, Evidence, and Connection.

I'm still working on it. I went swimming with Larissa and Molly during work time. But for my final picture, I will have

3. Post Images of all of your math work from the week. What are you struggling with? What are you doing well? See the links for the problem sets.

I understand how to look up differentiation rule and apply them, but I am interested in learning more about how those rules came to be. Although some people dislike proofs, they help me learn the concept. I like the assurance of knowing a tiny step/trick that will allow me to use my prior knowledge to solve new types of problems. Proofs are also really nice because the probability of messing up is so low, where as it is super easy to mess up memorizing a formula.

4. Where are you with the various projects aside from the digital art? How did you do with photography, your personal project, SCUBA, and/or your artificial reef this week? What do you need to accomplish in the coming weeks? What do you need help with?

I went snorkeling for the first time! It was really exciting. I was super nervous at first and was "kicking my legs" and trying to stay afloat, but I found out that the wetsuit will keep me afloat. The water was super cold and it gave me headache when I put my head down for long periods of time. I am super excited to get scuba certified and just go snorkeling in warmer waters or when it is hotter.

In terms of my project, I made list of items/amazon links I needed and sent it to Brian. I'm still talking to him about budget and what exactly I need.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page