top of page

Week 9

Weekly Reflection: This week, I've tried really really really hard to find a chemistry experiment that interested me. I want to do something with a long term plan, and something where I won't really know what is happening. I kind of want to just mix a bunch of things and see what happens (if that makes any sense). I've also been working really hard on making my DP look really good. The thing is, I really want to do something big, that is not just a "class project." Maybe I want to own a business and see how far I can actually get. At first I wanted to make lotion or chapstick and sell it for cheap prices. I mean it is a pretty good product that would appeal to at least half of the school, but I might stick to trying to make websites for small businesses. I've feel like I've got something to do in terms of the project (I'm supposed to help out with finding a gallery to exhibit our work). I went to the beach twice this week, all prepped up, and I've failed dramatically both times. But it was good experience. I learned a new thing everytime, things to do and not do.

Chemistry:

What is light? We set things on fire and thought about how and why certain elements burn a certain color. Turns out, it is because when a certain frequency (because frequency defines the wave, while amplitude is just the amount of energy) hits an atom, the atom, depending on its proton/neutron configuration excites an electron. The electron then "moves up" an energy level/shell level. For example an electron in the first shell - the one closest to the nucleus - can move up to the second, third or even the fourth shell. The particular frequency the electron needs to move up is unique to each individual element. (Wait, is this why electrons bond better when heat is added...like does this have something to do with it? Like when an electron from a completed orbital moves to an incomplete orbital so that way it has incomplete square things (s, p, d stuff) which allows it to bond?***Ask Andrew) Since the electron can not stay there long enough, the electron releases that much energy back. The amount of energy released the same as the amount of energy the electron absorbed. Therefore, depending on the light signature that each element emits, scientists can deduce what a particular star or a compound is made up of.

Project:

We learned a few composition techniques this week like the rule of thirds, and how we can play around with the shutter speed to bring a blurry - cool effect. The gallery I went to was amazing (and also partly the reason why I couldn't take any good pictures, wanted to imitate the wave pictures really bad).

Original:

Processed:

Humanities:

I worked on my landscape example piece that was modeled after Steinbeck. It is only a rough draft, so please go easy on me :)!

Up in North San Diego, at the base of a hill, tucked away from the main road, but amidst two schools and many houses lay a green open space. It was near everything commericial yet secluded with dry bushes and native plants bordering the vibrant green grass. It was half maintained by humans and half by nature. It was place that many parents come to relax while their kids go crazy running, or a place where the community can enjoy playing sports with their friends and family. With a few benches, tables and barbecue slots, it makes an ideal place for everything, from single reflection time to a small scale party.

Lizards and reptiles scurry around in the dry bushes, while the daring rabbits come into the grass and stared at the sun dipping behind the hills. And right around the corner of the concrete came the light steps of two little kids. The rabbits stayed still. The little girl with a carrot in her hands, slowly approached a rabbit, while all the same whispering to her little brother to stay quiet, for she wanted to feed and cuddle the rabbit. But she was soon disappointed because the rabbit ran away, when she was ten feet away.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page