top of page

Light.

I think that this was a fun week. I really love how my class just started off working on the project. This semester we are looking at pictures and how they tell stories.

Chemistry:

This week in chemistry we made a lab safety poster. I took a picture of my friend holding a flask with a chemical and then put it into Photoshop, where I then added the text.

Humanities:

The Elizabeth Eckford image has a huge impact on me. In 8th grade (not to long ago), I read an autobiography about her friend (Melba Patillo Beals), who was a part of their Little Rock Nine group. I don't quite remember the fine details but I can still the emotional impact it has left. For me this is a good picture because of the story behind it. This picture represents how courageous they all were. As a high schooler, the most important thing in my head, no matter how much I try to not think about it, is being accepted and having friends. I can't imagine how it might've felt like to go to a school for a whole year and try not to die.

The first thing that I noticed about this picture was the Elizabeth (the subject, of course), but your eye is then immediately drawn towards the angry women right behind her. While the women around her are yelling or looking serious (in a bad "I'm going to hurt you way), Elizabeth still maintains her calm composure.

Another composition feature is that Elizabeth's eye is on a third, also, she is the biggest subject and the only person whose whole body you can see.

Project:

This week we learned about shutter speed, ISO and aperture. Then, we went out and took pictures trying to play around with light, lines, the rule of thirds, and the golden ratio.

Leaves, Grass, and The Outdoors

In this picture, I tried to make use of the rule of thirds. The leaf stem is at the first third.

floating flower

I like this picture because the reflection floor thing looks really cool.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page